Separation isn't a popular fiction topic, but it is real, it happens sometimes. The following book list includes both heart touching and sometimes easy going novels, family sagas and literary fictions.

Having a list of recommendations isn't about the plot or plot twists but the reaction of the characters, heart rending plot twists may be written later in the novel and tend to be bigger in numbers.

Look at the author's background and career, you can figure out their motives and feelings. Their works are challenging to read no matter if you are connected to them or not. If you are looking for real feelings the following books are for you.

This list is also available on Goodreads, feel free to vote!


Divorcing Atlanta by Timmothy B. McCann

“In this moving family saga—set during the world-shattering impact of a global pandemic—two marriages and four people destined for greatness will falter and no one will be left unscathed in their pursuit to find a love of their own.”

Newlyweds, Lorenzo and Elizabeth Richardson stand at the precipice of seeing their dreams become a reality. The enigmatic orator from Chicago is poised to change lives with his plan to build an inner-city ministry, while his brilliant new bride has her sights set on the hallowed halls of Congress. But behind what looks like a blessed life lurks a life-long secret—one that tests their perfect union, and pushes one of them to do the unthinkable.

Congressman Anderson Banks and his adoring wife Tabitha are emerging Beltway royalty. The interracial movers and shakers bask in the glow of D.C. politics, but behind the scenes, a truth buried from the world, seeks to be revealed and threatens to shatter their perfectly crafted façade and destroy any hope for a presidential run.

Follow these seemingly perfect couples as they play their roles publicly but privately buckle under the unrelenting pressure, long-held secrets, complicated realities, political influence, societal expectations, and the economic and social fallout from a global pandemic.


The Beach at Painter's Cove by Shelley Noble

The Whitaker family’s Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, has always been a haven for artists, a hotbed of creativity, extravagances, and the occasional scandal. Art patrons for generations, the Whitakers supported strangers but drained the life out of each other. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves once again at The Muses.


Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. Beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers, and half of a teenaged golden couple. Ellie was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.


What We Leave Behind by Anna Mansell

I watch for a moment, my heart explodes. This little girl, dressed in white, her face bright as she swirls and twirls, dancing in the sunshine. ‘Mummy!’ she says, running towards me. I catch her, no question. ‘Mummy, you’re here,’ she says.’ And I hold her tight.

A heartbreakingly beautiful novel about motherhood, loss and family secrets, for fans of Kerry Fisher, Susan Lewis and Jodi Picoult.


Winter in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand

Irene Steele shares her idyllic life in a beautiful Iowa City Victorian house with a husband who loves her to sky-writing, sentimental extremes. But as she rings in the new year one cold and snowy night, everything she thought she knew falls to pieces with a shocking phone call: her beloved husband, away on business, has been killed in a helicopter crash. Before Irene can even process the news, she must first confront the perplexing details of her husband's death on the distant Caribbean island of St. John.